The Rock of Hope

Like an unfocused camera, sometimes what we perceive in this world seems crazy and out-of-control. But when we look at everything around us in a Biblical perspective, the blurriness clears away . . . 

blogpic28I can go about the mundane routine of life with relatively little stress as long as I never actually stop and think about life. Whenever I do ponder existence, the universe, the world, the country I live in, the people that populate this sphere we call Earth, I am overwhelmed. I find increasing cause to worry and fret over my future. Each time my fingers switch on the radio, I learn of a new murder or abduction. My fingernails have been reduced to stubs, as my eyes, glued to the TV screen, watch the presidential debates –two men proposing solutions to a country in peril. Passionate though I am about my beliefs for the path of this great nation, my birthday, falling after the 6 of November, denies me access to cast my vote. I feel helpless in the face of imposing danger. Things seem to spin faster and faster until they will soon fly out of control, and I am powerless to stop it. With each additional moment I think on this, I grow more uneasy, as if we are again submerged beneath the judgmental torrent of rain from the Great Flood. Each time these waves of despair flood over me, I can return to God’s Word, and these worries dissipate.

From the very first verse in Isaiah 40, I hear God declaring, “Comfort, yes, comfort My people!” This passage parallels my inability with God’s ability. Isaiah reminds me of the One who is all-powerful, the One who “neither faints nor is weary” (Isaiah 40:28b). Throughout the chapter, I see my incapability; I see the turmoil, and, with this view only, I am in great peril. Yet, Isaiah asks me, “Have you not known? Have you not heard?” God, in His perfect foresight, authorized all and sustains all. Isaiah describes the massiveness of our God as He “measured the waters in the hollow of His hand, measured heaven with a span, and calculated the dust of the earth in a measure? Weighed the mountains in scales?” (Isaiah 40:12). Now I know, that though this country may be in danger, “the nations are as a drop in a bucket, and are counted as the small dust on the scales” (Isaiah 40:15a). I am powerless. But He who created everything is powerful enough to save everything. He is a rock in which I put my hope.

“But those who wait on the Lord
Shall renew their strength;
They shall mount up with wings like eagles,
They shall run and not be weary,
They shall walk and not faint.”

Isaiah 40:31

Photo Credit

This entry was posted in Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Rock of Hope

  1. Beth says:

    Thank you Lord for the comfort you give in your holy Word. Thank you for the reminder in your essay, Sarah.

  2. Agnes Tan says:

    Beautifully put! Isn’t it interesting how we perceive “reality” to be dark and scary, but this “reality” all changes when God enters the picture?

  3. Its such a beautifully powerful image. Reading this really puts your heart at rest about the tangles of the world. And i agree, beautifully put 🙂

Leave a Reply

