Open My Eyes

Through the developmental stages faith undergoes, we feed first upon the pure spiritual milk, as described by Paul, only progressing to solid foods when we grow. As I have matured as a Christian, I have “eaten” my daily chapter of God’s Word. Nonetheless, I often failed to pause, study, and learn from it. How often do we stop to seek “wondrous things” as we read Scripture (Psalm 199:18; NKJV)? Now, however, as I attempt to digest the Word, I find I am like the Corinthians, who Paul “fed . . . with milk and not with solid food; for until now you were not able to receive it, and even now you are still not able” (1 Corinthians 3:2). Each time I open the pages of Scripture, I learn more about God’s being. Yet, without the Holy Spirit’s revelation, no one can truly comprehend the Bible. Only with His help, as we stop to chew and carefully digest the Word of God, can we nourish our faith. Therefore, it is my prayer: “Open my eyes, that I may see wondrous things from Your law” (Psalm 119:18).

This entry was posted in Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

